Oct

20

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review: The Undying, by Ethan Reid

The Undying: An Apocalyptic Thriller

Best friends Jeanie and Ben arrive in Paris ready to drunkenly party away New Years Eve with their chic French friends. And what better place for Jeanie to forget her depression over her father’s recent death to cancer than the City of Light?

New Years day brings a cataclysmic reckoning – Paris is in darkness, and giant rocks fall from the sky, destroying buildings and killing everyone nearby. Was it a terrorist attack? A meteor hailing death and destruction? Amid the chaos, Jeanie and her friends attempt to escape the burning, ravaged Latin Quarter to safety. But strange, vampire-like zombies roam the streets, entrancing Jeanie with their magnetic glares. Kill, they telepathically call to her. And if that isn’t terrifying enough, Jeanie rescues a tiny newborn boy and vows to keep him safe.

Can Jeanie and her friends survive the apocalyptic firestorm from the sky while outrunning les moribund, who threaten to take over their minds – or worse – rip out their throats? Will she be able to outrun the terror and keep herself and the baby alive?

This gripping, terrifying thriller is an awesome choice for fans of THE WALKING DEAD and THE FIFTH WAVE. Crazy-scary zombies, sympathetic babies and a heroine that cannot be kept down, this book will have you biting your fingernails down to bloody nubs. I was terrified!

And if that wasn’t enough to get you to buy it, notice the fantastic price point: $4.99. I mean seriously, you can’t go wrong. Download it now!

Oct

16

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – Chasing Power by Sarah Beth Durst

Chasing Power

 

Kayla has many talents, not the least of which is using her telekinetic skills to shoplift jewelry and cash from local stores. With her and her mom constantly on the run from her murderous father, she needs every penny she can get to help keep them safe. But when brooding hot-guy Daniel catches her red-handed, she’s really in for it…

Read More!

Oct

14

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: On Writing

Writing!

 

Hey all! I’ve finished my latest round of edits for MY NAME IS 13. Go ahead, click on it. I dare you!

I received some wonderful feedback from an awesome agent, and I’ve tried to apply her suggestions here. You’ll notice the voice is a lot stronger here. Let me know what you think! And, as always, check out my latest book reviews!

Oct

3

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – The Infinite Sea

The Infinite Sea (5th Wave Series #2)

 

Cassie, Ben, Ringer and the rest of the crew are back in Rick Yancey’s second book of The 5th Wave Series. If you haven’t read The 5th Wave, you are missing out. Do it. Now.

NOW.

Okay. Good. I was worried you weren’t listening.

Yancey weaves an intricate and emotional tale of survival in the age of alien invasions. It’s a beautiful account of Cassie’s survival and attempt to rescue her kid brother, Sammy. When she falls in love along the way, she’ll question everything she knows about the very essence of what makes us human. In this second installment, we learn the fate of her heart-throb Evan and what the aliens have in store for the few unlucky humans who have survived the invasion. Will Cassie and Ben survive the horrific next wave of confrontation? Will Evan return to Cassie, as he promised?

Yancey is a master of voice, and each first-person segment sings with gut-wrenching accuracy. Readers are pulled down into the trenches with the kid soldiers, eeking out survival. You’ll pull your hair out in frustration, hoping that your favorite character will survive! Yancey’s mastery of thrilling storytelling will have you reading until you turn that final page – I promise!

Read the review of The 5th Wave here. It’s the best book I’ve read so far this year! If you love post-apocalyptic thrillers or The Walking Dead, you will absolutely love this series!

 

Oct

2

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – Mortal Danger, by Ann Aguirre

Mortal Danger

When unpopular, ugly Edie steps out on the ledge, the last person she expects to stop her from jumping is the most beautiful guy she’s ever seen. But Kian isn’t just there to save her; he’s offering her a deal that will give her three wishes of anything she wants…

 

READ MORE

Oct

2

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – Sinner, by Maggie Stiefvater

Sinner (Wolves of Mercy Falls/Shiver Series)

Cole St. Claire is many things: a rock star, a recovering addict, and a werewolf. That, and he’s in love with Isabelle Culpepper…

READ MORE!

Sep

22

By D.C.C. Mealy

1 Comment

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – The Fifth Wave, by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave (5th Wave Series #1)

In the very near future, Cassie is fighting to survive in the midst of an alien attack on Earth. But it’s not spaceships and laser guns threatening the human race, but instead a world-ravaging plague, epic killer tsunami’s and creepy silencers, embedded in human bodies, who hunt down and exterminate surviving humans like vermin. Cassie has one rule: don’t trust anyone. Since the aliens look just like humans – heck, they’re just aliens shoved into human bodies, she can’t be sure who is her enemy, and who is her friend. This makes finding her little brother all the more difficult. With her parents gone and her brother kidnapped by the terrifying human-like aliens, Cassie shoots on site. That is, until she’s rescued by dreamy Evan Walker. He’s smart, quiet, and falling madly in love with plain ol’ Cassie. He’d do anything for her. It’s every girls dream, right?

But is it too good to be true? Can she trust Evan to help keep her safe, and find her little brother? And where does Evan go each night while she sleeps? Cassie can’t leave well enough alone, and will question the very core of her understanding of humanity in the process.

This is a great book for fans of THE WALKING DEAD, with similar survival in the face of adversity themes and setting. Fans of THE MAZE RUNNER and LEGEND will like this as well. The writing is absolutely superb. Yancey nails the voice of Cassie and the other teenagers, page after page. The pacing is thriller-like, pulling the reader through exciting and harrowing scenes, one after another. You won’t be able to put the book down until you’ve read the very last, thrilling page. I read it in a day and a half!

Pick up your copy today, because THE INFINITE SEA, book two in the series, came out last week! Seriously, guys, this series is so good. I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to read it! Plus, THE FIFTH WAVE is being made into a movie in 2016, and you’ll want to already know all about it beforehand. I absolutely cannot wait!

Sep

15

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – One Past Midnight

One Past Midnight

Sabine has two lives, running in parallel. In one, she’s popular and rich and has the hottest guy in school as her boyfriend. In the other, she’s poor and unpopular and totally un-date-able.

Click here to read more! 

Sep

8

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review – The Giver, by Lois Lowry

The Giver

Long before dystopic fiction was popular, before THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT, way back in the nineties, Lois Lowry wrote THE GIVER. You might have read it in school, or you might have heard of it due to the recent movie release. Either way, now is as great a time as any to pick up your own fresh copy of this dystopic classic.

Jonas’ life is perfect. He has two attentive parents, a shiny bike just like everyone his own age, and a safe community to live in. What more could anyone ask for? But Jonas is almost twelve, and he’s starting to worry. He sees flashes of something different when he looks at apples or crowds of people. And when he’s chosen as the Receiver for his community, it becomes apparent why. He can see beyond,  which makes him a perfect vessel for all of the world’s memories. As the Giver teaches him the lost memories of humanity, his own world becomes a colorful tableau that he never recognized before. The sky is blue, grass is green and his friend Fiona’s hair is a beautiful shade of red. His new memories show him sunshine, sled rides and family love, as well as war and hunger and isolation. These memories are too much for the world too bear, and so he alone must take them all – the good and the bad. Without these memories of choices, the world is a safer place, and he must do his part to keep it that way. But when he discovers the terrible price his community pays for their tepid peace, he can take no more. Jonas will attempt to save the life of someone he loves. Can the memories of humanity help him survive, or was the community right to forget them?

THE GIVER is a fantastic, short read that is great for ages twelve and up.

Aug

18

By D.C.C. Mealy

No Comments

Categories: Book Reviews

Book Review: AFTER ISAAC

After Isaac

 

 

This beautifully written book examines what we do after the loss of a loved one – from a teens perspective.

Read More!